39 Officers From The Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Office Honored By Board of Supervisors For Their Service To Community

SANTA CLARA COUNTY, CA – On March 13, 2023 the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors recognized the outstanding work and bravery of officers and personnel from the County Sheriff’s Office in their handling of a volatile situation in San José last year. Supervisor Otto Lee recognized each of the officers with certificates and a Board Commendation for the Office of the Sheriff Crisis Negotiation Team for de-escalating a potentially deadly situation and their dedication and service to the residents of Santa Clara County.

The Deputies employed their training to de-escalate a volatile situation as they waited for the Sheriff’s Crisis Negotiation Team, CNT, to arrive. The CNT utilized their specialized skill set while the individual continued to escalate the situation, the Deputies engaged in non-lethal measures to eventually subdue the individual.

“I’m so thankful for the bravery and composure displayed by our Sheriff’s Deputies. The Crisis Negotiation Team de-escalated a very dangerous situation and safely disarmed a distraught individual,” said Supervisor Otto Lee. “While risking their lives, these officers remained calm and professional to keep everyone in the area safe.”

The County of Santa Clara has been focused on enhanced de-escalation and crisis response training for law enforcement and personnel.

The Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors honored the following thirty-nine personnel involved in the last year’s incident for dedicating their lives to serving the residents of Santa Clara County with unwavering commitment to making our community one of compassion, safety, and pride:

Protective Service Officer Robert Perez Protective Service Officer Arthur Gonzalez Sergeant Jeff Taylor
Sergeant Colin Haselbach, CNT Sergeant Tyrone Monroe, K9 Sergeant Marcus Barbour
Sergeant Tyler Fernandes Sergeant John Rizqallah Sergeant Nicolas Carlin
Sergeant Tiffany Poyadue Sergeant Gerardo Quintant Sergeant Mike Ford
Deputy Russ Lopez Deputy Rob Paul Deputy Mark Harper
Deputy Jennifer Toomey Deputy Rosalind Nguyen Deputy Jeremy Ashley
Deputy Brian Tanaka Deputy Steve Emehiser Deputy Alok Patel
Deputy Omar Perez Deputy David Fisher Deputy Jeffery Slaats
Deputy Edward Tobia Deputy Reuben Delapena Deputy Peter Nguyen
Deputy Ryan Hale Deputy Gabriela Toruno Deputy Edgar Zuniga
Deputy Jarvis Bui Deputy Geraldine Fisher Deputy Joe Brown
Lieutenant Dennis Owens Lieutenant Jeremy Jones Captain Jeff Puente
Captain Brendan Omori Captain Eric Bourassa  

Photos and additional information about today’s presentation will be available online at SupervisorLee.org. If you or someone you know is struggling with mental illness, self-harm, or addiction/substance use in crisis please dial 9-8-8.

The Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Department has a Gun Relinquishment Program where individuals may turn in any unwanted firearms. Please contact the Sheriff’s Office for more information 408-299-2311 or visit CountySheriff.sccgov.org.


Supervisor Otto Lee serves District 3 on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors which represents Sunnyvale, Milpitas, and the northern neighborhoods of San José including Alviso and Berryessa. Supervisor Lee also serves as the Vice President of the Board of Supervisors. He is an intellectual property attorney, Retired U.S. Navy Commander, former Sunnyvale Mayor & Councilmember, and father. Supervisor Lee lives in Sunnyvale with his wife and three daughters, and their family rabbit. He was elected to represent District 3 in November 2020. More information about him and the District 3 Office is available online at SupervisorLee.org or contact us anytime via email at Supervisor.Lee@bos.sccgov.org.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *